PreviousPage 1Next

Awards galore

(Lorraine, Brian and Shane Anderton with trophies from the Otago Racing Club awards for the 2015-16 season)

White Robe Lodge horses and personnel collected seven of the 10 awards made by the Otago Racing Club for the 2015-16 season which ended on July 31.

The WRL -connected award winners were High Forty (two awards), trainers Brian and Shane Anderton (two); apprentice jockey Jacob Lowry, Gallant Dan and Tommy Tucker with presentations made between races at  the Wingatui meeting on Friday (9/9/2016).

High Forty, winner of the 2015 New Zealand Grand National Steeplechase, was named Horse of the Year. He is owned by Brian and Lorraine Anderton and Terry Burke, of Tamworth.

The WRL stable won 39 races and $676,417 in stakes last season. The strike rate was 8.41.

Tommy Tucker won the listed races, the Timaru Cup and Easter Cup for the Andertons and Ian Nichol. Gallant Dan won an open sprint at Wyndham and two other races. Lowry won 31 races including the Winter Cup, South Island Breeders' Stakes, Timaru and Easter Cups. Lowry is attempting to get his weight stabilised. He was suspended from September 3 to 9 when unable to make the weight for his three riding engagements at Ashburton on August 26. His riding weight is now 56kg.

The WRL jockey Toni Direen, who rode Dream Divine to a six and half length win in a maiden race on Friday, will take up a position as track work rider for Ballarat trainer Darren Weir at the end of October. She will accompanied by her partner KC Walters, who had his first win as a jumps jockey this winter. He rides track work for trainer Terry Kennedy. Direen has been with WRL for seven years.

The ORC awards:

Jockey: Jacob Lowry (apprentice)

Jumps jockey: KC Walters

3yr-old: Passito

Sprinter: Gallant Dan

Miler: Tommy Tucker

Stayer: Wild Bill

Jumper: High Forty

Trainer and strike rate: Brian and Shane Anderton

Horse of the Year: High Forty

The awards were judged by Matt Smith (journalist), Wayne Stevens (Wingatui track manager) and Mark Davidson (stipendiary steward).